Class IIITerminated · reported 2023-05-17

Daisho Kimchi hotpot soup 750g UPC: 4904621042653

DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSE recalled this product and the FDA reported the enforcement action on 17 May 2023 as Class III. The recall was initiated by the firm. Label warns for fish but does not specify anchovy or sardine; Canada lists clams in ingredients but not in contains statement.

The record

Every field below is published by the FDA in the openFDA food enforcement database. Check the FDA notice before acting on any recall: this page is a reading of the public record, not a substitute for it.

Product
Daisho Kimchi hotpot soup 750g UPC: 4904621042653
UPC
4904621042653
Reason for recall
Label warns for fish but does not specify anchovy or sardine; Canada lists clams in ingredients but not in contains statement.
Firm location
La Mirada, California, United States
Classification
Class III
Status
Terminated
Recall number
F-0868-2023
Quantity
4,078 units
Distribution
Products were distributed to customer retail locations in California, Texas, Nevada, New York, New Jersey, Washington, and British Columbia Canada.
Initiated
3 March 2023
Reported by FDA
17 May 2023
Terminated
3 May 2024
Firm notified by
Two or more of the following: Email, Fax, Letter, Press Release, Telephone, Visit
Product codes
No code on package

Reading this record

Five things about this record are not in the record itself, and each one changes how it should be read.

  • Class III means the FDA judged that the product was unlikely to cause harm but violated FDA labelling or manufacturing regulation. The class is assigned by an agency health hazard evaluation under 21 CFR 7.41, not by the firm.
  • The firm started this recall itself. Most FDA food recalls are voluntary, and a recall is a food safety plan working rather than failing. The circumstances in which the agency asks for one instead are set out in 21 CFR 7.45.
  • This is one of 21 records covering the same recall event. The FDA opens one enforcement record per product code, so a recall of a product line appears here many times. Counting these records as 21 separate recalls, which almost every published figure does, overstates it by a factor of 21. Every product code in this event is listed together on the record that covers the whole recall, which is the page a search engine is pointed to for all 21 of them.
  • The recall ran for 14 months, from 3 March 2023 to termination on 3 May 2024. Termination means the agency judged that all reasonable effort had been made, under 21 CFR 7.55, and it says nothing about whether product remained in circulation.
  • The FDA published the enforcement report 2 months after the firm began the recall.
  • Recalls of a prepared meal or sandwich run a median of 6 months, so this one was longer than usual for its category. Prepared meals concentrate every other category's hazards into one package: they are assembled from many components, handled after any cook step, sold ready to eat, and carry an ingredient list long enough to lose an allergen in.

What this recall was for

Undeclared allergens

An undeclared allergen recall means a food contained one of the major allergens and the label did not say so, either because the wrong label was applied or because an ingredient carried an allergen nobody traced.

A preventive controls plan covers an undeclared allergen under the clauses below. This is where the control belongs, not a finding against any firm named on this page: a recall record states a reason, and most of these recalls were initiated by the firm itself.

21 CFR 117.135(c)(2)
Food allergen controls: the written preventive controls that keep an allergen out of a food it does not belong in, and that get the allergens present onto the label.
21 CFR 101.4
Ingredient declaration: every ingredient listed by its common name, in descending order of predominance, on the label of a packaged food.
21 CFR 117 subpart G
Supply-chain programme: the approval and verification a receiving facility runs on a supplier when the hazard is controlled before the ingredient arrives.

The allergens named in this record: fish, crustacean shellfish.

Filed under prepared meals and sandwiches. A product can sit in more than one.

Other prepared meals and sandwiches recalls for the same reason

These are the closest records in the corpus: the same kind of food, recalled for a hazard this record also names. Unlike the firm’s own records below, they come from different companies, which is what makes them a pattern rather than a history.

ReportedProductFirmReasonClass
2026-09-02Sura Tanmen Hot and Sour Flavor Premium Japanese Noodles & Soup Base. Retail package net wt. 15.4oz. Product is ramen noodle kit which contains noodles and Soba soup packet. Item #05410 retail package, UPC 085315054108 Item #05410.1 cardboard box (12 packages per case), UPC 085315054105 Product is Perishable Frozen or Refrigerated and made by Sun Noodle Hawaii 1933 Colburn Street, Honolulu, HIH & U Inc. dba Sun NoodleSoba sauce packet, which contains bonito, sardine, and mackerel (fish), was packed into Sura Tanmen Hot and Sour Flavor ramen noodle package kit, but fish species are not declared on finished product label.Class I
2026-08-12Spicy Breakfast Burrito sold under the following brand names: FRESH & READY FOODS Spicy Breakfast Burrito Net Wt. 8.2 oz (232g) UPC 1 00001 00029 7 and Sprig & Sprout Spicy Breakfast Burrito IN A SPICY TORTILLA NET WEIGHT 8.3oz (234g) Contains: Egg, Milk, Wheat. MG Foods Charlotte, NC 28272M.G. Foods, Inc.Undeclared Soy. The firm received complaints of sausage in the burritos. Upon review the firm discovered the sausage contains soy which is not listed on the label.Class I
2026-08-12Blank Slate Creamery VEGAN NON-DAIRY FROZEN DESSERT COCONUT FUDGE SANDWICHES, 4.5 oz clear plastic packageBlank Slate Creamery Productionundeclared eggClass I
2026-07-01El David Gelee, Bonbons with fruits Soft & Juicy, 400g. Packaged in decorated paperboard box and covered entirely in transparent, flexible plastic wrap. (20 bonbon pieces per 400g box). UPC 5304000050757Alb-USA Enterprises IncUndeclared colors (FD&C Yellow 5 and FD&C Red 40).Class II
2026-06-17Individual Unit Label (both lid and front of cup): Whole Foods Market Kitchens Minestrone Soup, VEGETARIAN NET WT 24 OZ (1 Lb 8OZ) 680g. Case Label: Whole Foods Global Minestrone Soup 702505, KEEP REFRIGERATED, Distributed by Whole Foods Market Austin, TX 78703. Eight (8)/ 24 oz. Cups (Net Wt. 12 LBS)/case.Kettle Cuisine, LLCContains undeclared allergen (shrimp).Class I
2026-06-17Park St. Deli Macaroni & Cheese, NET WT 20 OZ (1 LB 4 OZ) 567g, product packed in plastic tub and placed into paperboard sleeve. 9/20 oz packages per case.BEF Foods, IncUndeclared allergen (soy lecithin).Class II
2026-06-10UPC 21494500000 Ready Meals MEAL SALMON With LEMON CAPELLINI PASTA SS This is Albertson's store-made item and sold by unit at point of sale with grocery store's scale label.Albertsons Companies LLCContains statement does not declare SalmonClass III
2026-06-10UPC 21788400000 Ready Meals SANDWICH TUNA SALAD CROISSANT SS COLD This is Albertson's store-made item and sold by unit at point of sale with grocery store's scale label.Albertsons Companies LLCContains statement does not declare TUNAClass III

Other records from DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSE

The FDA opens one enforcement record per product code, so several of these are frequently one recall event. 57 other records name this firm.

ReportedProductFirmReasonClass
2023-05-17Kajitani food cigar fry 110g UPC: 4901332108289DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSECoconut not listed in ingredients list or contains statementClass II
2023-05-17Takuma food dashi salt peanut 80g UPC: 4962679652750DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEProducts were found to contain flying fish instead of angler fish.Class II
2023-05-17Ajikal 44g Kotsubukko 4 series UPC: 4510656600708DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEProducts were found to contain undeclared coconutClass II
2023-05-17Ito confectionery Langley vanilla cream 6 sheets UPC: 4901050138629DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEShea nut not listed in either the ingredients or contains statementClass III
2023-05-17Kimura burdock salt 40g UPC: 4972304293524DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEFish (Sardines, Bonito, Tuna) not listed either in ingredients list or in the contains statementClass I
2023-05-17Nitto Foods Immediately Pickled Dashi 5.5g x 2 Bags UPC: 4902362032100DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEContains statement warns for fish(mackerel, bonito, tuna); ingredients list includes round herring & anchovyClass III
2023-05-17Okabe Funagata small grilled small sardine 43g UPC: 4971455077236DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEContains statement warns for sardines instead of anchovyClass II
2023-05-17Wadakan sukiyaki sauce 300ml UPC: 4903636311594DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSE"Fish" listed in both ingredients list and contains statement; no species identifiedClass II
2023-05-17Takuma food herb salt peanut 80g UPC: 4962679652767DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEno fish (Bonito, Sardines, Tuna) listed on ingredients or contains statementClass I
2023-05-17Ito confectionery Langley chocolate cream 6 pieces UPC: 4901050138605DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSEShea nut not listed in either the ingredients or contains statementClass III

All 58 records for DAISO CALIFORNIA WAREHOUSE

All 2023 recalls · All FDA food recall data

21 CFR 117.135(c)(2) is the clause behind this recall, and it is one somebody has to produce evidence for at their next audit. Krolda maps supplier documents to the clause they satisfy in FSSC 22000, IFS Food and 21 CFR 117, and routes the corrective action when the evidence is missing.

Early access

Recall records come from the openFDA food enforcement API, published by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in the public domain. Krolda adds the hazard classification and the clause mapping; neither is an FDA determination. Always check the FDA notice before acting on a recall.